Sprouting

I know about the health benefits of consuming sprouts, so I decided to try it. Here’s what I did:

I bought a packet of Mung beans

mung

Step 1 Day 1: Soaking
I soaked 1/4 – 1/3 of a cup of Mung beans overnight in some water. I soaked them in my ‘sprouting jar’ which is a glass coffee jar. I drilled holes (with a knife) in the plastic lid.

IMG_2504

Step 2 Day 2: Draining & rinsing
I drained the water, rinsed, drained again, and set the glass jar at an angle for the remaining water to drain. I propped it in a stainless steel colander with a saucer underneath. It’s important that the beans don’t completely cover the mouth of the jar because some air needs to get in for them to breathe.

IMG_2507

Step 3 Day 3: Rinsing, draining, & sprouting
Leave it in a place out of the sun. Rinse and drain twice a day.

IMG_2512

Step 4 Day 4: Rinsing, draining and storing or consuming

After a final rinse and drain, they’re ready! Toss in salad and enjoy! They may be stored in the fridge for a couple of days.

IMG_2515

Different seeds and beans might needs different amounts of time for soaking and sprouting. Experiment, or Google it!

Have you tried sprouting? Leave a comment, and let me know about your experience!

One comment

Leave a Reply

